Tags

, , , ,


I can sum up all I know about newborns in three words:  Not.  A.  Lot.

We brought home both of our girls at about one year old so newborns are a novelty.  I’ve never even considered for a moment what a newborn BOY would be like.  Which is why last night may have been the most interesting and, um, challenging of my entire life.

My friend’s daughter had a baby boy last Monday.  On Tuesday, Baby A’s blood test came back positive for Xanax.  Social services arrived promptly and a plan was made for the baby to go home with the parents who live with my friend.  The baby daddy’s grandmother agreed to come over every day to supervise the visits between mother and child.  Unfortunately, the caseworker’s supervisor nixed the idea and plans were moving quickly to place Baby A in state custody.

As a general rule, I’m not for the DSS mission which is “family reunification”.  I think their primary goal should be the welfare of the child.  In some cases, that means “screw reunification”.  But in this case, I believed in the baby’s parents desire (and hopefully their ability) to do the right thing by their beautiful new son.

Two hours after discussing it with my husband, I was signing the baby’s discharge papers at the hospital and bringing him home with me.  Because I didn’t really have anything else to do.

~~~~

Tomorrow marks three weeks since we brought A home with us.  He went home with his family yesterday.  During this time, amazing things have happened to me, to my marriage, to my children and to my friends.  I have a LOT to say about it, but you deserved a little of the back story.  Come back tomorrow and I’ll fill you in on my alternate universe.