Tags

, , , ,


I recently discovered that every member of my family has enough clothes to change outfits top-to-bottom at least four times per day for a full week without ever rewearing an item.  This includes my 10 month old who currently resides in a Russian orphanage.  Her closet and every drawer in her dresser are packed (tightly packed) with new clothes.

I am NOT complaining.  I know that I am blessed.  But I am more than a little embarrassed.  For myself, my family and for my fellow Americans.  It’s a “Wal-Mart Mentality” that we buy disposable clothes, wear them for a season and discard.

This came up while we were in Moscow and Prince Charming suggested that we should open a Wal-Mart there and become the richest folks in Russia.  I won’t detail the whole economic/political conversation that ensued, but suffice it to say that we agreed that Wal-Mart would be devastating to the Russian economy in the long run.

All this got me to thinking about how differently the typical Russian family lives and shops compared to my own family.  Does my 7-year-old really need seven “play clothes” outfits?  Three pairs of “play shoes”?  Do I need 14 pairs of pants and 9 dresses?  Does my husband need 34 polo shirts?  The only person who comes close to justifying her apparel needs is the baby, and she doesn’t even live her yet.

And so in honor of this brand new year, I am making a resolution to curb our wardrobing.  It isn’t reasonable to swear off shopping.  Kids grow and need new clothes and shoes.  It IS reasonable,  however, for me to be more intentional in my purchases:  quality vs. quantity.  It is also reasonable and penny-wise for me to commit to using ebay and consignment as much as possible.

I will update my blog with my plans and progress on the last Friday of each month.  This should be interesting……

